Halfway to the Plantation

I’m into my 5th week of training, I have just over 3 weeks left until my 1/2 marathon.  It’s been a busy couple of weeks. with last week being spring break for the boys, and the Easter Holiday.  I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter and was able to spend some quality time with family and friends.  I had to work last week for during the boys’ spring break, but I was able to get Friday off for company holiday.  We spent the day at the beach, with the boys and some of their friends.  It was a good time. I haven’t been to the beach in several months, so it was really nice to get back to it.

beach 1_04-03

Relaxing at the beach during the holiday….wife and pup in the distance.

As for the running, well my wife and I went to a local WRRC Thursday night Pub Run, and rocked out a short 3.8 mile run.  I thought we were cruising along on the run at a good sub-9 pace.  Well, we were, 8:07 average for the 3.8.  Wow!  I wasn’t expecting that.  It did help that there was a group that run 1/2 the run just in front of us, and with the competitive nature my wife and I both have, we opted to make it a goal to pass them and make sure they didn’t pass us back.  They didn’t.  The last mile was the fastest paced mile.  Got my tempo run in!  And thanks for pushing me Kelli.

We spent the rest of the weekend goofing off with the kids, doing games and chores around the house and such.  I had a few runs over the weekend, the last one being a 12 miler set for Sunday morning.  The WRRC Sunday morning group that I normally run with was very limited to people, probably due to the Easter holiday.  Those that did show up usually averaged an 8 minute mile or faster pace.  So, I knew I was in for it.  We did a 3 mile warm up at an 8:30 pace, if that says anything.   And then we headed out for a 10 miler.  My schedule only called for a 12 miler, at a conversation pace.  We were averaging 8:30 for approximately the entire 10 miles. I ran with a multi-Boston marathoner, and he is going back in 2 weeks.  He is aiming at a 3:35:00 marathon time, and this 8:30 pace we were cruising at was a “slow” run for him.  Not for me. Conversation from me was limited.  Him, not so much.  But it was very good, made the miles tick away faster.  I finished my Sunday run at 13.1 miles, at a time of 1:57:20.  Well, let’s hope I can do that at the PBC 1/2 Marathon in a few weeks, and I’ll be very happy.

We turn now into this week’s schedule.  Boys are back in school.  Training is kicking into higher gear for myself and my wife.  And the boys’ sports schedules are really firing up as well.  Baseball games, home run derby’s, soccer games, tournaments, and make-up soccer games have filled just about every night of this week up.  That’s good though, keeps us moving and from getting into any trouble.  StatMan had a baseball scrimmage Tuesday night, and a homerun derby Thursday night.  Then StatMan has opening ceremonies for baseball and an opening weekend tournament on Saturday/Sunday.  Bookworm had soccer practice Tuesday night, soccer practice Thursday night, church youth group Wednesday night, and then soccer games on Friday night and Saturday morning.  Throw in 2 longer runs for me on Saturday and Sunday, and my wife has some running, biking and more running to do, and it’s a full weekend.

bos_1200x630

And baseball has moved into the regular season.  My RED SOX opened up the season with a great game against the Phillies on Monday afternoon.  I’m hoping for a strong season, although there is a weakness in the pitching rotation that I think might really hurt the SOX in the long run.  We shall see. Only 160 more games to go until playoffs.  And with baseball season comes an acceptable reason to lay on the couch and rest our weary legs from lots of training and running around with the boys, and watching some games (plus it helps that my wife asked me to “teach” her all about the SOX and baseball and watch more games this year).  BONUS!!

What does your spring bring?   What are your goals?  Any other RED SOX fans out there?

 

2 thoughts on “Halfway to the Plantation

  1. It really was a good spring break week! And so impressed with your race…er, I mean training run that you ended up doing at race pace! Just remember that you CAN do it and it won’t be easy, but you’ll be happy you did it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

