An Axe, Soccer and Globie

I’m into week 3 of my shortened 1/2 marathon training.  Last week was tough.  I had Friday off from running, resting up for a cold weekend of running. My wife and I went out for a short 5 mile run.  She is coming off a marathon (last weekend), and I’m gearing up.  She has done my training plan for this half marathon, and we ran together.   We averaged an 8:27 pace for the 5 mile run.  This was fast for me.  This was slower than normal pace for her.    As she said, she pushed my pace, and I kept her from getting crazy.  It was a good run.  I enjoyed it.

Saturday afternoon brought about BookWorm’s rec soccer game.  He is on a 12 yr old rec league team.  They have had a total of 5 practices (one we missed) since the season started February 22.  His team had some trouble in game 2 of the season.  BookWorm played goalie, the entire game.   They lost 6-1.  Shots on Goal: BookWorm’s team: 3 – Opponent: 30+.  And BookWorm being the sensitive one he is, he felt it was his fault they lost.  He is his own toughest critic.  We explained to him that when you are outshot 10-1, the odds are against the goalkeeper, especially when 3 of the goals were 1 on 1 or worse.  The odds are against the goalie.  So, this game BookWorm was hesitant before the game, expecting a bad performance and many goals to be scored.   Well, not so much. He played awesome.  It helped the other team was not as good as the week before’s opponent, and they won 4-0.  He had a great game.  Several stops, good punts.  And after this game, several of his teammates congratulated him on a great game…..when last week he was being crucified and they were lining up to stone him for his effort.  But as my wife says, you’re the hero or the scapegoat….similar to the kicker in football.

goalie

We ended Saturday night watching the Elite Eight games and cheering Kentucky on to a very close win.  StatMan wanted it DVR’d so he could watch it on Sunday.  He settled for me writing the score on his chalkboard so he knew the score as soon as he woke up.

Sunday morning brought 29 degree sunny morning, and a 10 mile run was looming.  My wife stayed in and did a hard 90 minute bike ride on the trainer.  I pushed myself out the door for my run.   IT DID NOT FEEL GOOD!  I don’t know what the deal is.  After mile 4 my legs were tired and sore, similar to mile 23 of a marathon.   Maybe it’s to the harder workouts I’ve put them through the rest of the week with speed work, maybe it was the cold, maybe it was the beer and potato chips the night before.   Whatever it was, it did not feel good.  But, I got it finished. 10 miles in 1:38:52.  Just under a 10 minute mile pace.  I’m okay with that.

After we all got cleaned up, we decided to head outside and begin some yardwork.  We have an area in the front yard that has lots of roots and  undergrowth from a pine tree and cedar tree that were previously removed by our neighbors…well, the trees were..they left the roots. And now they are moving, and planted a 2′ bush….and nothing more.  So, we get to clean is all up.  I spent an hour and a half digging up roots and tearing them out with my axe.  I am sore today. Shoulders and triceps.  I haven’t done much strength work, and it shows.

HarlemGlobtrotters-Logo-withTreatment-575x273

So we got our little flower/planting bed finished, changed clothes and headed out to see the Harlem Globetrotters.   What a good experience that is.  We saw them on tv a few weeks ago, and then happened to hear by chance that they were coming to Wilmington.  We had to see them.  That is some of the best basketball ball handling, shooting and skills I have ever seen.  Those guys are amazing.   And entertaining.  Besides having to wait 30 minutes in line to get into the Coliseum, all went well.  The boys both got Globetrotter basketballs, and have proceeded to try and imitate every trick they saw yesterday.   If you have never seen the Globetrotters, I highly recommend it. I remember when I went to see them when I was growing up, somewhere in the same age range my boys are.

This week will bring some more speedwork, and Spring Break…and April Fools Day.  Boys are home, so we will be planning some good pranks on them for the day.  We also plan to attend a local “Pub Run” Thursday night, sort of a night out/date night for the wife and I.  I look forward to it.   This will be one of a few chances we have in the next several months with sporting events, training and school activities.

What will your week bring?  Have you seen the Globetrotters?  What childhood memories have you experienced that you have passed on to your kids?

 

 

4 thoughts on “An Axe, Soccer and Globie

    • Training for the local Plantation Building Corp 1/2 marathon in Brunswick Forest, just outside Wilmington. I did the race last year. Flat double loop course. Easier for me to keep working out when I have something to train for.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ahh, spring break, kids running around, playing, no real schedule. T’is a nice place to be (minus the arguing). Glad we’re able to get out and enjoy the pub run this week instead of being at practice! The Globetrotters were a lot of fun – glad it worked out.
    And you’ll do your half well, I know you will 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

