Starting Week 4…

Here we are in the 4th week of January. What have you done so far this year?  Are you keeping up with your new year’s resolutions?  Are you keeping with those goals?  I have started this year with minimal workouts.  I did start swimming again, not as often as my wife would like, but it’s more than in the past, so it’s a decent start. I do intend to hit the pool tomorrow, and as well as possibly Friday. Depends on scheduling with my wife’s workouts. She has long runs on weekends, so I believe Friday is her one rest day a week.

I have completed a few runs and a few swims so far this year.   I got 2 swims in of 800m the week before last.  Last Sunday I ran an 8 mile trail run with the local running group we are members of, Wilmington Road Runners Club, in the members only Survival Trail Run. It was supposed to be a 4 or 9ish mile trail run through Carolina Beach State Park.  It was rainy, wet and we all got lost at least once. I at least got 8 miles in, and it wasn’t too terribly wet.

WRRC Group before Survival Run

WRRC Group before Survival Run

Tuesday morning was an 800m swim.   Friday was supposed to be an 800m swim, but I got lazy, wanted an extra 1-1/2 hours of sleep, so didn’t get a workout in.  It rained cats and dogs on Friday night/Saturday morning, so I opted out of a workout again.  It’s easy for me to talk myself out of a workout, and I did it again Saturday.  Sunday my wife had a running race with WRRC, the Beethoven 15k, so I hung out with the boys.  We did a group dinner with runner friends on Saturday night, and had some great pizza.  Kelli, myself and Stat Man (Book Worm, my 12-year-old, was at a sleepover with classmates), went to Mellow Mushroom.  Boy was that pizza good.

Stat Mans' pizza from Mellow Mushroom.

Stat Mans’ pizza from Mellow Mushroom.

Sunday was fairly uneventful.  I did some tasks around the house. Stat Man played NCAA 12 on the PS3, winning all 3 games.  I picked up Book Worm and dropped him off for his annual christmas present lunch/shopping trip with his aunt and uncle.  I returned home and then we went out doors and started some destruction.   We have quite a large deck in our backyard, and we don’t like it.  The deck is fine, but it’s starting to deteriorate, too many overgrown trees, railings stink, etc.  It has a handrail around 90% of it, which blocks the view of our pool, trampoline, grass, everything.  And we have some seriously overgrown bushes that surround the deck.  One of the projects I have undertaken is to remove the handrail, remove the bushes, and open up the deck for better visibility into the yard.  Man what a difference it made. The kids had fun destroying the deck rails once removed, and I feel better now that the deck looks cleaner.  Can’t wait to get this all finished and be ready to entertain for our annual summer party.

Newly Destructed Deck

Newly Destructed Deck

We finished the weekend off Sunday night by relaxing on the couch and watching Ocean’s 12.  What a great series of movies.  Ocean’s 12 is not our favorite of the three, but it’s still a good one, and Stat Man and Book Work hadn’t seen it.

Tuna

Tuna relaxing

And now we dive into this week, which has lots going on (running, swimming, Wrightsville Beach marathon volunteer meeting, Clemson Club Alumni Group meeting, KRTN, wife’s coaching meeting, more training, long runs for my wife, and finally the Super Bowl on Sunday.  Our EPIC year is just beginning.

What have you done so far this year?  Are you keeping up with your new year’s resolutions?  Are you keeping with those goals? Any big training runs this week? 

 

4 thoughts on “Starting Week 4…

Leave a Reply

