21 to 26.2

We had some fun this past week and weekend.  We, as a family, have been looking for some new things to do at night to keep us busy and not getting bored at home.  We have learned new games (Farkle, Golf), watched movies or new tv shows (Steve Austin’s Broken Skull Challenge), completed puzzles, and have tried to implement a 20-30 minute reading time each night.  But this past week, we taught the kids Blackjack.  We printed out the “rules” to blackjack, broke out the poker chips and started playing.  It was quite fun to see the boys using their minds and following “the rules” of blackjack to win chips. It is educational, as they have to do the math to figure out what they have, and what they need. So we’re teaching them something, right?  I myself did not fair so well, but my youngest, Stat Man, did amazingly well.  He sort of followed the rules of betting, and won lots.  He was cleaning house.  We are debating taking him to Vegas next time we go.  (We did not fair so well at the tables in Vegas).

blackjack1

As for the rest of the weekend, my wife completed a 19 mile run on Saturday in preparation of her marathon in March.  I did an 8-mile trail run on Sunday morning with the WRRC group, in the rain.  Wasn’t a bad rain, well, not during the run. It was a downpour driving to the state park.  But, we have to get our runs in no matter what.  We watched some football.  What a finish between Seattle and Green Bay.   And way to go Patriots.  Looking forward to seeing the Patriots hoist the trophy again on February 1.

And a question has been proposed to me by my partner in crime (“honey, I have an idea…..”). My wife, RunningBoston&Beyond (Kelli), is registered and training for the 2015 Florida Ironman (after her March Marathon).  As part of her training, it was suggested to her to participate in the Wilmington Beach2Battleship Triathlon, which is an Iron distance triathlon and relay.  She would do the swim and bike portion of the relay for training, and then I would do the marathon portion for the relay.  At first I was hesitant, not sure I wanted to tackle another marathon so soon.  But as of last night, after our conversations of what 2015 will bring, I said what the hell, let’s do it.  We’ll figure out specifics later.

b2b logo

So, I guess I now have a marathon on my calendar to train for.  What do you do  at night at home to keep things fun around the house and the boredom at bay?  What big activities are you planning for 2015?

3 thoughts on “21 to 26.2

  1. Awesome! You guys are such a cool couple. I wish I could get my husband to participate in any kind of sport with me. I’m currently training for an April marathon and then just running around at random races until Dopey Challenge next January.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

