ASSERTIVE minus the ASS

Well, 2014 is quickly coming to a close. The Holidays are just about over, and what a week it’s been.  A great Christmas with my wife and boys.  We got a new trampoline for the boys, and they’ve already spent hours upon hours of jumping on it.  We ate lots of good food and watched most of our Christmas movies.  I got some great presents from the boys, those really thoughtful ones that I will remember forever.

typawxmas present for dad

Clemson won their bowl game on Monday, and can you say Woodshed!

B6EXLh1CMAA28qE

 

With this being New Year’s Eve, we look back at what 2014 was.  And what a year it has been.   We completed our first full year here in Wilmington, NC.  The boys are doing well in school and sports.  Kelli completed the Boston Marathon and her first triathlon, a 1/2 iron distance event at the Beach2Battleship Triathlon.  We went to a Red Sox – Yankees game at Fenway Park.  I completed my first marathon, the Savannah Rock-n-Roll Marathon.  We started coaching a running group at the Middle School my 12 year old attends, and I’m implementing a new Watch D.O.G.S. program at the elementary school my 8 year old attends.  We attended a Dave Matthews Band concert.  We have been rather busy with all the training, kids sporting events, volunteering events, and just some small family vacations.

It has been a year of firsts, a year of some failures, and a year of some successes.   I’m sure everyone can relate to this, and you have all probably had your own successes and failures this year.  And with it being New Year’s Eve today, we turn our focus towards 2015.  What will it bring?   Will you make resolutions to work out more, eat less chocolate, drink less beer, be more of a community volunteer?  What will it be?

New Year's Resolutions

I have a thought on resolutions.  I have never really ever kept a resolution that I’ve made. I thought that I would, but come March or April, I usually forget what my resolution even was.   I think this year I will take a different approach, more of a goal setting mindset, or as a friend of mine is using, focusing on a keyword for the year.  There are lots of different things I want to do, but don’t want to write the list as a “resolution”.  Maybe resolutions work for some people, but not for me.  I want to enjoy life a little more, spend more time with family enjoying the things that makes us happy (not that we aren’t already happy as a family, just do more without worrying as much with others’ thoughts).  I want to get out of my comfort zone, reach outside of my “box” persay, and do different things.

I will use 2015 to do more things that I usually procrastinate on.  I plan to run more 1/2 marathons.  I plan to complete more projects around the house.  I will turn 40.  I need to communicate more, speak my mind instead of keeping it inside.  So my word is ASSERTIVE.   I will be more assertive at home, at work, in the community, speaking my mind.  I will not be a jerk about things, I’ll keep others thoughts and feelings in my mind when speaking and acting, but I need to spend this year also finding me, doing more for me and finding myself.

So my word is ASSERTIVE  (minus the “ASS”).

What is your word? What are your goals?  What will be your resolutions?

2 thoughts on “ASSERTIVE minus the ASS

  1. You had a busy, yet by the sounds of it a very fulfilling year.
    Don’t have what might be called a resolution, but did make a bit of a “life change” the beginning of December.
    Working 2 jobs has been taking a toll on me stress wise, so I asked my one employer if they would reduce my hours to a 4 day week.
    Since then I have been less “short” with my family.
    “Less is more” been able to do some jobs around home that otherwise would have to hire someone for, and even do some home cooked meals.
    Have a wonderful 2015. 🙂
    ~Carl~

    Like

Leave a Reply

