Weekend Update

So this was supposed to be written and issued Monday or Tuesday of this week, but as I’ve said before, sometimes work and other stuff get in the way and delay what I have wanted to do.  So, without any further delay, here we go…..

It was a fairly busy weekend for my household.  We spent Saturday morning at the William H. Craig Race for Life 5k as the end of year 5k race for our STRIDE team from my son’s middle school.  My wife volunteered and took on coaching of this team, actually, implementing it at this school, and taking the lead as the coach.  I provided some assistance, and help with keeping the 15 6th graders from running completely rampant while they were out running around and she was busy coaching individuals.  It was a great season.  You learn to really care about these students who come out and spend the time to train for the 5k.  It was a great experience, and we are doing it again at our youngest sons’ elementary school in the spring.  We completed this 5k on Saturday morning, hung out and watched the awards, and then headed home for coffee from the rather cool morning we’d just spent 5 hours in.

We spent the rest of Saturday afternoon cleaning up things around the house, raking the back yard, throwing the football in the front yard, and just passing time before my oldest had to be at a birthday party.  Once home, it was just mom and dad and our 8 year old for a few hours.  We proceeded to make his bedroom EPIC.  He is a shark lover, and wildlife and ocean lover, and we (well, my wife actually) painted his room a few months ago. We have just been really busy and have not gotten around to decorating his walls. Until Saturday night.   Let’s just say it is now EPIC!

EPIC Shark!

EPIC Shark!

We then proceeded to watch Rudolph, and settle in for the night.  I also sampled my Porter that had been carbonating in the bottle over the past week or so.  And I just have to say that it is quite tasty, and only time will make it better.   It came out to be around a 6% ABV beer, and is very clean with a decent body. Slightly sweet, but that comes with the ingredients used.  All in all, it won’t last long, especially with beer loving friends and family going to be around over the holidays to help eliminate it rapidly.  Guess I’ll start planning my next batch to brew.

porter1

Sunday was a day of cleaning to prepare for the family coming to visit.  We watched some football, played some football, ate some good food, and watched a few Christmas movies.  It appears we are going to have to cram  A LOT of Christmas movies in over the next week to get all of our favorites in before the holidays end.

So I’ll wrap this blog up.  I’ll be posting a few more before the end of the year, as hopefully more time will allow. Work as gotten in the way this week as I feel I’m covering for my entire department, but it will all be worth it in the long run (well, it better be!).

What will you be doing this next week as we close in on Christmas?  Are you running? What is your favorite movie or family tradition?

Leave a Reply

