First run back and Turkey Day

Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving!

We arrived at my parents’ house Wednesday afternoon as the kids immediately left us for gramma and grampa. So what do we so as parents, go out for a jog. It’s been raining for 40 days an 40 nights in Wilmington (it feels that way at least). Getting out to exercise has been difficult and with all the recent travel between the 2 of us, exercise has been at the back of the list. We got out for a nice jog Wednesday before dinner: me a quicker paced 5 miles and Kelli getting in just over 6 at her much faster pace than I. She felt great; me not so much. For my first run back since the marathon, I am okay with it. I feel weaker than I did at marathon time, but think it will come back quicker than when I first started training in July.
And getting this run in will make me feel better about my eating habits for today, Thanksgiving Day.

So we will be off to my brother’s house for the big turkey lunch. The kids will run and play outside, hit the trampoline and whatever other trouble 8 and 12 year olds can get into.  I’ll eat too much, hopefully watch some football, and then wish I had eaten less come end of the day. But I will enjoy it.   I will take in the time with family and be thankful.

I am thankful for my amazing wife and awesome boys, my family, for my health as ability to run, and the friends I have. I wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving and hope everyone enjoys their day, however you choose to spend it.

What does your Turkey Day bring?  Any Turkey Trots? Football?

One thought on “First run back and Turkey Day

Leave a Reply

