That’s IT!!!!

My final training run before my marathon is over.  I completed a 3.5 mile run this morning in the crisp, dark 42 degree morning.  All that remains is a 2 mile shake out on Friday, and then Saturday morning, 7am, I run the Savannah Rock-n-Roll Marathon.  I start in corral 9, with a finish time slated at 10 min/mile pace.  Not sure I will meet that, but it’s something to have out there.  My long training runs averaged about 10:30, but I never stopped my watch to cross streets, get water, bathroom breaks, etc.   And, this time gives my wife a target time to be at the finish line to see me complete (assuming I do make it the entire way).

So now comes the task of getting my clothes together, packing gu, shoes, shirts, shorts, tights, headphones, blah blah blah, etc.  All the running gear, post race gear, pre-race gear, and the kitchen sink, for a destination marathon.  Yes, I’m only traveling 5 hours from home to run, but it’s still not in my home town, so it takes more to get ready.  I’m a little nervous, more nervous about getting it all done before I leave town on Thursday, including all my workload at the office.   I’m sure the nerves will catch up with me come Friday at the Expo and packet pickup, but I’ll deal with it. It’s not like I’m an elite going for a sub 2:10 marathon. So I’ll manage I think.

This has been an incredible journey.  I’ve learned a lot about myself, my drive and what I can do.  I’ve learned I do like running with groups, and I do actually like running in general.  I told my wife a couple years ago, maybe more recent than that (she’ll remember exactly when) I told her I didn’t enjoy running. It was like work to me. Something I needed to do, but didn’t enjoy it.  I told her on Saturday morning, during a nice leisure 8 mile run together (this almost never happens, us running together) that I learned to really enjoy running.   I will continue to run, to be out on the road, in groups, without groups, on my own, with her, in the cold, the wet, the hot, whatever. It makes me feel better to do it.

But for now, I will focus on the task at hand, the 26.2 miles of Savannah streets I will encounter on Saturday. I will enjoy as much as I can while I run, and I’ll relish in the post race with my wife and my 2 awesome boys, who all 3 have stuck it out with me as I’ve gone through this 18 week training.  I love them and can’t thank them enough.  Let’s all have fun!

See you at the finish!

Finish Line

6 thoughts on “That’s IT!!!!

  1. Running actually “grew” on me as well, something I did not enjoy at 1st, now I love it, and miss it when I am not running! 🙂
    Have a GREAT marathon this weekend, looking forward to reading all about it.
    I have also nominated you for the Liebster award, more wanted to give you a shout out, and if you would like to play along, it is entirely up to you. 🙂
    Thanks, Carl 🙂
    http://theoldfellowgoesrunning.com/2014/11/05/the-liebster-award-a-network-for-new-bloggers/

    Like

Leave a Reply

