Painfully Quick Update

So as you know, I have been dealing with a calf muscle pain that has bothered me for a couple weeks now.  I took a few days off from running last week, and even cut some mileage in order to try and “quickly” get my calf healed. I rolled and I iced.  I iced and I rolled.  So I went out last Thursday and ran a quick 3 miles.  When I say quick, I’m not talking fast or in a short time period. I’m referring to it was only 3 miles, so it didn’t take 3 hours like our long training runs.  My calf felt good. A little bit of tightness, but nothing too bad.  So I took my normal Friday off, rolled and iced.  I then set out on Saturday morning for a 5 to 8 mile run, whatever felt best.  I got to mile 3 and my calf hurt.  I could feel it worse than it was a week ago.  So I cut my run off at 5 miles, and really started worrying about my scheduled 20 miler the next day. How in the hell am I going to do that?

I did go on Friday night and purchase a compression sleeve for my calf.  I bought an XL based on the salespersons recommendation, due to my calf size.  I tried on the L and the XL, and the L felt really tight, the XL not so tight. But I went with the XL anyways.   Well, I wore it on my Saturday run, and it felt like just a sock around my leg.  It did nothing other than grab some weeds and cut the cool air from hitting my leg.  So, later in the day Saturday, I went back to the store and bought the L size.

I set out on Sunday morning at 6 am for my 20 mile long run. My LAST long run before I enter taper and hit the homestretch of my marathon training.  Completed it.  ALL 20 miles.  No real issues. I could feel a slight bit of pain, but the new size compression sleeve worked wonders.  I’ll probably wear it for the balance of my training and the race, whether I need it or not.

I sat around on Sunday afternoon relaxing and watching some football (and quickly turned the Panthers game off as they blew chunks against the Packers), I felt a pain on the top of my left foot. I just figured it was from a long running day, just an ache. No biggie.  Well, Monday came, and it felt worse. Hurt with every step.  So I decided to take off from my 5 miler today to give it one more day of rest, see how it goes.  My wife thinks it’s just one of those “pains” you get in taper.

IMG_6458

We shall see.  Hopefully she’s right (but I won’t give her the enjoyment of it by telling her).

7 thoughts on “Painfully Quick Update

  1. I am hoping the calf pain I have just stays “manageable” through the race. Only 5 days left. I am ready at least mentally to have it over with!!
    Enjoy the taper!

    Like

Leave a Reply

