And…It’s Over!

As quick as it came in (6 months ago), the regular season for baseball is over, and the playoffs have started. My dear RED SOX decided to tank it this year, and call it rebuilding, restructuring, injuries, thinning the old folks out, whatever.  They went from 1st (2013 World Series Champions) to last place this year (As you can see I used World Series Champions, in lieu of World Champions, as the MLB only plays in the USA and Canada.  Yes, they have players from all over the world, but I bet there are some European and Asian teams that could beat many of the USA MLB teams).  The Houston Astros, who have been known to be extremely horrible since about forever, had a record just one victory less than the RED SOX.  That’s a tough season.  I’m okay with it, as the SOX did win the World Series last year, and have won three since 2004.  So, I can handle a bad season here and there.  And as the organization is saying, they are primed for youth in the organization and will have a stronger, and more victorious, team next year.  photo (4)

So, I’m pretty much done watching baseball for this year. I will keep in touch with who’s winning the playoff games, and who will be in the World Series.  I’ll probably watch a little here and there just to be able to keep up with the watercooler conversations at work.  But as for watching every pitch, as I tend to do when my RED SOX are playing, that will not happen.   Too much other stuff going on to do that, unless my RED SOX were playing.

So good luck to those teams that remain, and good luck to the fans who have teams still playing into October.   I wish you well on your late nights yelling at the tv, and all the stress that comes with it.  I will be laying in bed most nights sleeping, thinking of March 2015, when Spring Training begins and I can again begin to hope the RED SOX will win the World Series.

And if I could figure out how to move the kids’ spring break from April to March so I could visit sunny Florida for some opening action.  Any suggestions let me know.

One thought on “And…It’s Over!

Leave a Reply

