Is running an inconvenience?

So I went out for a morning run, just my normal 5 mile morning run at 5am.  I tend to run in the morning before work and everyone wakes up in the house in order to just get it done, out of the way, and that allows me to relax at home at night with my family, or not have the workout not impede on the 100 other things we have going on with kids activities, my wife’s workout schedule, work, school, homework, fun, etc.  So off I go, in the dark of the early morning.  I wear some bright colored clothes, not too much, but not black. My shoes glow, and my shirts are fairly bright.  I think I can be seen.  I run through my neighborhood streets, keeping close to the house due to the time of the morning and knowing I have to get home, cool off, get in the shower, see the kids and then get to work before 7:30am.  As I run on the edge of the neighborhood streets, I hug the edge of the pavement. We have no curbs, just asphalt roads ending in grass of the houses along the street.

I mind my business, running along, not bothering a soul.  I see lights in the distance coming towards me, and I begin to watch to see when they begin to move over to the center of the road.  Closer the car comes, closer to the edge of the road it goes.  Closer to me, closer….closer….I run off the road about 10′ into someone’s yard..yelling at the car that has now sped past me, well above the 35 mph speed limit in our neighborhood, and hugging the edge of the road as if they were trying to deliver mail.  I don’t think they saw me, I know for sure they didn’t see me. Whether they weren’t looking, were texting, still sleeping, didn’t care, whatever….I HAD to move.  Not the 2 ton car, nope, little ‘ol 210 pound me had to move.  After I regrouped from the multiple expletives I yelled at the car, I resumed running, again, hugging the edge of the road.  I began to think….

Are we, as runners (I now consider myself a runner as I train for my 1st full marathon), an inconvenience? Is running an inconvenience?  Not to us, not in our schedules and our lives.  But are we runners and the act of running, an inconvenience to the world?  I mean, we do take up space running along the side of the road.  We cause traffic jams and roadway closures for a race event.   We raise money and fund raise for great charities, but must ask the general public to donate to our causes.  We use public bathrooms in restaurants and coffee shops we aren’t eating at during our long runs.  Are we an inconvenience?  Causing others to “share the road”, or at least “move over in the lane because a group of runners is coming down the street”.  Move off the sidewalk as a group of runners jog by…must wait by the bathroom as we stop in for a quick break during a long run (or emergency stop, depending on your run).  So are we an inconvenience to the world?

I of course do not think so. I believe my wife will think we are not.  Just proposing the question as I am experiencing more and more everyday what my wife (an avid experienced runner) has told me stories of her adventures during runs. Do you feel you are an “inconvenience” at times to the world? I am not going to change what I do, just some thoughts I had running the other morning.

And I went out this morning at 5am to get in my 5 miles, as I usually do.  Had to avoid one vehicle today, but felt much less like an inconvenience.  More like an obstruction to them, keeping them alert.  Hope you all have good runs and aren’t treated like an inconvenience in your training.

2 thoughts on “Is running an inconvenience?

  1. Thank you so much for the follow. Always great to connect with a fellow runner.
    And I am so glad you are okay, and did not get hit by the car.
    That is a very good question you have left us with, “Am I an inconvenience”? The world is not perfect, and I wish we could all be a little more tolerant of each other. I am always on “edge” running on roads, you just don’t know what is “around the next corner”. Thanks for sharing this. It was a really well written blog post!

    Like

    • Thanks. Just started blogging. My wife has been doing it for quite sometime, and it got me intrigued by it. Lots of great people with great experience out there. Thanks for the follow as well. Looking forward to reading more of your blog as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

