Boy Do My Sox Stink!

14-1. 1 run. That’s all the Red Sox could score against the Blue Jays last night. It’s been a tough year to be a Red Sox fan. Last place, 11 games out of first place in the AL East. Not a good place. And being World Series champions last year, makes it a little rougher.  But hey, being a Red Sox fan has it’s ups and downs.  And I would consider myself a die hard Red Sox fan.  I’ve watched the many disappointments over the years (and I won’t list them here as I don’t want to get backlash from Red Sox Nation for rehashing the pain), and I’ve lost many hours of sleep watching Red Sox victories.

I took my family to Boston this past April. Okay, actually my wife was the reason, as she ran in the Boston Marathon.  I drove us, so that means I took my family to Boston.  We did what true Boston fans do….Red Sox – Yankees game at Fenway Park, dog and a beer at Fenway, beers at the Bleacher Bar, beers at Cask ‘n Flagon, beers at McGreevy’s (home of the Dropkick Murphys), blared ‘Tessie’ and ‘Shipping Up to Boston’  songs as loud as possible, bought souvenir baseballs for my boys, bought as many Red Sox hats and shirts and sweatshirts we could find, and just had a great time.  I love Boston, I think it’s a great city.  One of my favorites.

Greatest Stadium on Earth

But I know what it’s like to be a true Red Sox fan, not a bandwagon fan. Not a fan that is only supportive in the winning years. I have spent my time in sorrow watching some of the most painful losses, dumbest trades, epic failures of seasons.  But I keep coming back.   One of my favorite movies is Fever Pitch.  Great movie about Boston and the Red Sox.  They express all the agony Boston fans have been through over the years.  But we keep coming back.  No matter what, we watch and love the Red Sox.  So can be said of me and Clemson sports.  No matter what, I watch, in good and bad.

So, as the summer draws on, and the losses seem to be coming more often than the wins, and I still hope for the Sox to come out with a 20 game win streak and take over 1st place in the AL East, I will continue to watch.   No matter the end result.  I love my Sox.

Leave a Reply

